Dated Aizawl, the 12th June, 2024


No. B. 12024/3/2023-SEC/VC/MADC/195    : In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 243K of the Constitution of India read with sub-rule(1) of Rule 3 of the Mara Autonomous District Council (Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2014 as amended and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the State Election Commission, Mizoram, herby, issues a list of National Parties, State Parties and Registered Unrecognized Political Parties within the State of Mizoram as per list of Political Parties issued by Election Commission of India, 2024 for general information in connection with the By-Election to Village Councils, 2024 scheduled to be held on 9th July, 2024(Tuesday), as :


1.         National Parties:

i)        Aam Aadmi Party, Symbol - Broom

ii)       Bahujan Samaj Party, Symbol - Elephant

iii)      Bharatiya Janata Party, Symbol – Lotus

iv)      Communist Party of India (Marxist), Symbol – Hammer, Sickle and Star

v)       Indian National Congress, Symbol - Hand

vi)      National People’s Party, Symbol – Book


2.         State Parties:

i)        Mizo National Front, Symbol - Star

ii)       Zoram Nationalist Party, Symbol - Sun (without rays)

iii)      Zoram People’s Movement, Symbol - Hat


3.         Registered Unrecognized Political Parties:

i)        Hmar Peoples Convention

ii)       Maraland Democratic Front

iii)      Mizoram People’s Conference

iv)      Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) Party


It is further stated that “Book” has been allotted as the reserved symbol of National People’s Party. Hence, ‘book’ in the list of free symbols provided by the Mara Autonomous District Council Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2014 as amended shall not be allotted to any other candidate as it is already reserved for the candidates sponsored by National People’s Party.




State Election Commissioner


Memo No. B. 12024/3/2023-SEC/VC/MADC/195     :                       Dated Aizawl, the 12th June, 2024

Copy to:

  1. Deputy Commissioner & District Election Officer, Siaha District.
  2. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, all Political Parties, Siaha District, Mizoram.








State Election Commission,