Dated Aizawl, the 31st May, 2024


In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 243K of the Constitution of India read with the Mizoram Municipalities (Election to Local Councils) Rules, 2015 as amended and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the State Election Commission, Mizoram, hereby, issues a list of National Parties, State Parties and Registered Unrecognized Political Parties within the State of Mizoram as per list of Political Parties issued by Election Commission of India, 2024 for general information in connection with the By-Election to Sakawrtuichhun Local Council, 2024 scheduled to be held on 25th June, 2024 (Tuesday), as :


1.         National Parties:


  1. Aam Aadmi Party, Symbol - Broom
  2. Bahujan Samaj Party, Symbol - Elephant
  3. Bharatiya Janata Party, Symbol – Lotus
  4. Communist Party of India (Marxist), Symbol – Hammer, Sickle and Star
  5. Indian National Congress, Symbol - Hand
  6. National People’s Party, Symbol – Book


2.         State Parties:


  1. Mizo National Front, Symbol - Star
  2. Zoram Nationalist Party, Symbol - Sun (without rays)
  3. Zoram People’s Movement, Symbol - Hat


3.         Registered Unrecognized Political Parties:


  1. Hmar Peoples Convention
  2. Maraland Democratic Front
  3. Mizoram People’s Conference
  4. Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) Party


It is further stated that “Book” has been allotted as the reserved symbol of National People’s Party. Hence, ‘book’ in the list of free symbols provided by the Mizoram Municipalities (Election to Local Councils) Rules, 2015 as amended shall not be allotted to any other candidate as it is reserved for candidates sponsored by National People’s Party.










State Election Commissioner,



Memo No.B.14015/1/2024-SEC/LC/8  :            Dated Aizawl, the 31st May, 2024

Copy to:

  1. Deputy Commissioner & District Municipal Election Officer, Aizawl District.
  2. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, General Headquarters, all Political Parties, Aizawl, Mizoram.








State Election Commission,