Dated Aizawl, the 4th January, 2024


In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 243K of the Constitution of India read with sub-section (7) of Section 3 of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Village Councils) Act, 2002 as amended and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the State Election Commission, Mizoram, herby, issues a list of National Parties, State Parties and Registered Unrecognized Political Parties within the State of Mizoram as per list of Political Parties issued by Election Commission of India, 2023 for general information in connection with the By-Election to Village Councils under Chakma Autonomous District Council, 2024 scheduled to be held on 30th January, 2024 (Tuesday), as :


1.         National Parties:


i)          Bharatiya Janata Party, Symbol - Lotus

ii)         Indian National Congress, Symbol - Hand

iii)         National People’s Party, Symbol – Book

iv)        Aam Aadmi Party, Symbol - Broom


2.         State Parties:


i)          Mizo National Front, Symbol - Star

ii)         Zoram Nationalist Party, Symbol - Sun (without rays)


3.         Registered Unrecognized Political Parties:


i)          Hmar Peoples Convention

ii)         Maraland Democratic Front

iii)         Mizoram People’s Conference

iv)        Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) Party

v)         Zoram People’s Movement


It is further stated that “Book” has been allotted as the reserved symbol of National People’s Party. Hence, ‘book’ in the list of free symbols provided by the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Village Councils) Act, 2002 as amended shall not be allotted to any other candidate as it is already reserved for the candidates sponsored by National People’s Party.





State Election Commissioner,





Memo No.B.12011/1/2023-SEC/VC/LADC/CADC/37 :      Dated Aizawl, the 4th January, 2024

Copy to:

  1. The Deputy Commissioner & DEO, Lawngtlai District, Laawngtlai.
  2. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, all Political Parties, Chawngte.







State Election Commission,