Dated Aizawl, the 25th July, 2023


In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 243K of the Constitution of India read with sub-rule (5) of Rule 3 of the Lai Autonomous District Council (Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2011 as amended and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the State Election Commission, Mizoram, herby, issues a list of National Parties, State Parties and Registered Unrecognized Political Parties within the State of Mizoram as per list of Political Parties issued by Election Commission of India, 2023 for general information in connection with the By-Election to Village Councils under Lai Autonomous District Council, 2023 scheduled to be held on 22nd August, 2023 (Tuesday), as :


I. National Parties:


  1. Bharatya Janata Party (BJP), Symbol - Lotus
  2. Indian National Congress (INC), Symbol - Hand
  3. National People’s Party (NPP), Symbol - Book


II. State Parties:


  1. Mizo National Front (MNF), Symbol - Star
  2. Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP), Symbol - Sun (without rays)


III. Registered Unrecognized Political Parties:


  1. Hmar Peoples Convention (HPC)
  2. Maraland Democratic Front (MDF)
  3. Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC)
  4. Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) Party
  5. Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)


It is further stated that “Book” has been allotted as the reserved symbol of National People’s Party. Hence, ‘book’ in the list of free symbols provided by the Mizoram Municipalities (Election to Local Councils) Rules, 2015 as amended shall not be allotted to any other candidate as it is already reserved for the candidates sponsored by National People’s Party.






State Election Commissioner,




Memo No.B.12011/1/2023-SEC/VC/LADC/CADC/18 :   Dated Aizawl, the 25th July, 2023

Copy to:

  1. The Deputy Commissioner & DEO, Lawngtlai District, Laawngtlai.
  2. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, all Political Parties, Lawngtlai.






State Election Commission,