Dated Aizawl, the 31st May, 2024


No.B.14015/1/2024-SEC/AMC/16 : In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 243ZA of the Constitution of India read with Section 27 of the Mizoram Municipalities Act, 2007 as amended and Rule 10 of the Mizoram Municipalities (Election of Councillors) Rules, 2007 as amended and all other powers enabling it in this behalf, the State Election Commission, Mizoram, herby, issues a list of National Parties, State Parties and Registered Unrecognized Political Parties within the State of Mizoram as per list of Political Parties issued by Election Commission of India, 2024 for general information in connection with By-Election to Ward No.XIX under Aizawl Municipal Corporation, 2024 scheduled to be held on 25th June, 2024 (Tuesday), as :


1.         National Parties:


  1. Aam Aadmi Party, Symbol - Broom
  2. Bahujan Samaj Party, Symbol - Elephant
  3. Bharatiya Janata Party, Symbol – Lotus
  4. Communist Party of India (Marxist), Symbol – Hammer, Sickle and Star
  5. Indian National Congress, Symbol - Hand
  6. National People’s Party, Symbol – Book


2.         State Parties:


  1. Mizo National Front, Symbol - Star
  2. Zoram Nationalist Party, Symbol - Sun (without rays)
  3. Zoram People’s Movement, Symbol - Hat


3.         Registered Unrecognized Political Parties:


  1. Hmar Peoples Convention
  2. Maraland Democratic Front
  3. Mizoram People’s Conference
  4. Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) Party






State Election Commission,





Memo No.B.14015/1/2024-SEC/AMC/16  :          Dated Aizawl, the 31st May, 2024

Copy to:

  1. Deputy Commissioner & District Municipal Election Officer Aizawl District, Aizawl for information and necessary action.
  2. Municipal Returning Officer & Asst. Municipal Returning Officer for information and necessary action.
  3. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, all Political Parties, Aizawl, Mizoram.






State Election Commission,