No. B.12011/2/2008-SEC/3                          :                 Dated Aizawl, the 20th January, 2009





                        In exercise of the powers conferred under Rule 3(1) of the Mizoram (Constitution of State Election Commission) Rules, 2008 and as per authority delegated to the State Election Commission, Mizoram for the conduct of General Elections to the Village Councils vide Notification No. B.14016/1/07-LAD/VC dated 15th January, 2009, the General Elections to the Village Councils in Aizawl, Lunglei, Serchhip, Champhai, Mamit, Kolasib Districts shall be held on 24th February, 2009 (Tuesday).

                        Schedule for Election to the Village Councils in Mizoram will be as follows:


            i) Last date for making nomination                               -           03.02.2009

            ii) Date of scrutiny                                                             -           04.02.2009

            iii) Last date for withdrawal                                            -           05.02.2009

            iv) Date of Poll                                                                    -           24.02.2009


Note : Poll may continue on 25.02.2009                           (7:00Am – 4:00PM)

in respect of Village having inconveniency) 


v) Counting of Votes: Counting will be done as soon as poll is over

vi) Date on which election process shall be completed           -           27.02.2009






State Election Commission

Mizoram : Aizawl.


Memo No. B.12011/2/2008-SEC/3             :                  Dated Aizawl, the 20th January, 2009

Copy to:-

1)     Secretary to Governor, Mizoram.

2)     P.S. to Chief Minister, Mizoram.

3)     P.S. to Speaker / Ministers / Dy. Speaker / MOS, Mizoram.

4)     P.S. to Chief Secretary, Mizoram.

5)     Director General of Police, Mizoram.

6)     All Heads of Department, Mizoram.

7)     Director, LAD / All Deputy Commissioners, Mizoram.

8)     Director, I&PR Department for favour of issue of Press Release.

9)     Station Director, Doordarsan /All India Radio for favour of wide publicity.

10)President / General Secretary, all Political Parties.

11) President, MJA.

12) Editor, All Local News Papers.

13) Guard File.




State Election Commission.

Mizoram : Aizawl.