In exercise of the powers conferred under Rule 3(1) of the Mizoram (Constitution of State Election Commission) Rules, 2008 and as per authority delegated to the State Election Commission, Mizoram for the conduct of General Election to the Village Councils vide Notification No. B.14016/1/07-LAD/VC dated 15th January, 2009, the General Election to the Village Councils in Aizawl, Lunglei, Serchhip, Champhai, Mamit, Kolasib Districts shall be held on 24th February, 2009 (Tuesday).

                        Schedule for Election to the Village Councils in Mizoram :


            i) Issue of Gazette Notification                                       -           20.01.2009

            ii) Last date for making nomination                              -           03.02.2009

            iii) Date of scrutiny                                                                        -           04.02.2009

            iv) Last date for withdrawal                                            -           05.02.2009

            v) Date of Poll                                                                      -           24.02.2009


Note : Poll may continue on 25.02.2009                            (7:00Am – 4:00PM)

in respect of Village having inconveniency) 


vi) Counting of Votes : Counting will be done as soon as poll is over

vii) Date on which election process shall be completed         -           27.02.2009






State Election Commission

Mizoram : Azawl.


Memo No. B.12011/2/2008-SEC              :           Dated Aizawl, the 19th January, 2009

Copy to:-

1)     Secretary to Governor, Mizoram.

2)     P.S. to Chief Minister, Mizoram.

3)     P.S. to Speaker / Ministers / Dy. Speaker / MOS, Mizoram.

4)     P.S. to Chief Secretary, Mizoram.

5)     President / General Secretary, all Political Parties.

6)     Director, I&PR Department for favour of issue of Press Release.

7)     All Heads of Department, Mizoram.

8)     Director, LAD / All Deputy Commissioners, Mizoram.

9)     Station Director, Doordarsan /All India Radio for favour of wide publicity.

10) President, MJA.

11) Editor, All Local News Papers.

12) Guard File.




State Election Commission.

Mizoram : Aizawl.