Dated Aizawl, the 22nd November, 2021


                    Whereas, there is every likelihood that during the course of campaign in the By-Election to Local Councils, 2021 to be held on 16th December, 2021, the Political Parties may mobilize their supporters, including from outside the Local Council Constituency, in order to bolster their campaign; and


                    Whereas, the Commission is of the view that continued presence of Political functionaries/Party workers/Procession functionaries/Campaign functionaries etc., who have been brought from outside the Local Council Constituency and who are not voters from the Local Council Constituencies concerned after Campaign period ends may undermine the atmosphere for free and fair poll;


                    Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred under sub-section (1) of Section 3 of the Mizoram Municipalities (Election to Local Councils) Rules, 2015 with a view to ensuring free and fair elections, the State Election Commission hereby orders that within the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for the close of Poll, i.e. between 4:00 PM of 14th December, 2021 and 4:00 PM of 16th December, 2021, no campaign should take place within the Local Council Constituencies where By-Election is being held and Political functionaries/ Party workers/ Procession functionaries/Campaign functionaries etc., who have been brought from outside the Local Council Constituency and who are not voters of the Local Council Constituency concerned, should not continue to remain present in the said Local Council Constituencies.


          The Commission, further, orders that the District Election Administration and Police Administration shall ensure that all such functionaries leave the Local Council Constituency immediately after the Campaign period is over at 4:00 PM of 14th December, 2021. This Order shall be brought to the notice of all Political Parties, Candidates and their Agents in order to enable them to comply.












State Election Commission,







Memo No.B.14015/1/2021-SEC/LC/33   : Dated: Aizawl, the 22nd November, 2021

Copy to:-

  1. Secretary to the Governor of Mizoram.
  2. P.S. to Chief Minister, Mizoram.
  3. P.S. to Deputy Chief Minister, Speaker, all Ministers, Deputy Speaker & Ministers of State.  
  4. Sr. P.P.S to Chief Secretary, Government of Mizoram.
  5. P.P.S to Chief Electoral Officer, Mizoram.
  6. Secretary, General Administration Department.
  7. Secretary, Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation.
  8. Deputy Commissioner & District Municipal Election Officer, Aizawl District. 
  9. Commissioner, Aizawl Municipal Corporation.
  10. Chairman/General Secretary, i/c Election, all Political Parties, General Headquarters, Aizawl.
  11. General Secretary, Mizoram Peoples’ Forum. 
  12. Guard file.






State Election Commission,